Lack of Money

The lack of money is the root of much evil.

Most certainly I am not the first to come up with this play on the words of Christ, but it rings most true.

The other evening, indulging in a depressive fit, I catalogued the litany of flaws and disappointments in my life.  I observed that a significant upward motion in my socio-economic status (or massive inflow of cash) would remedy all but one of my complaints!

Jesus is right, people do a lot of corrupt things for the love of money.  But it is especially easy to love it when we do not have enough.  Only give me so much that I may be indifferent to it and I will be free from the danger of loving it!

Alas, I do not think God credits this type of self-serving reasoning.

One thought on “Lack of Money

Leave a Reply

