Fragrant Eggs en Cocotte

The chorus of voices lifted in praise of eggs is great; mine is but a small one in a sea of many.  As part of a recent effort to increase my whole food and protein intake, while decreasing icky processed carbs and flours and such, I find myself eating eggs far more frequently. Eggs are worthy of the praise lavished upon them: efficiently nourishing, they are probably the best source of affordable, high quality protein out there.

A hardboiled egg is a convenient, nutritious snack, but it can be a little lackluster, so I am forced to expand my skills beyond the ordinary realm of egg dishes like scrambled or fried.  Normally I would throw together a quiche, but I am avoiding milk and cheese, and quiche simply sounds less exciting without them.

Saturday I tried my first new egg recipe. Eggs en cocotte are baked in the oven in ramekins, usually with cheese, cream and vegetable or herbal garnishes. I have been wanting to make these cutely contained dishes for some time, but lacked the cookware. Fortunately, my lovely sister sent ramekins to me for my birthday this year, so I am finally equipped.

To conform with my current “regime” excluding cheese, I chose the recipe “Fragrant Eggs en Cocotte” from The Silver Spoon as my first attempt. It is a simple recipe, calling for eggs, butter, salt & pepper, herbs, and tomatoes. I used the puny fruits produced by our tomato plants out front. The recipe calls from fresh basil and dried oregano. All I had on hand was dried basil and it was delicious with just that.

Fragrant Eggs en Cocotte (adapted from The Silver Spoon)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Ingredients:

4 eggs

butter

tomatoes, thinly sliced (enough to layer in ramekins twice)

salt & pepper

dried basil or herb of choice

Directions: Generously butter four oven-safe ramekins. Sprinkle with dried basil. Put a layer of tomato slices in the bottom of each ramekin. 

IMG_2177

 

Break an egg into each ramekin, being careful not to break the yolks. Season  each with salt and pepper and a dot of butter. 

 IMG_2182

 

Layer tomatoes on top of each, and sprinkle with basil again.

IMG_2187

Place the ramekins in a roasting pan or other deep oven-safe vessel. Fill the pan with boiling water until it is halfway up the sides of the ramekins.  

IMG_2185

Place in oven. Bake for 8-11 minutes, until whites are set. Carefully remove pan from oven. Then take ramekins out of pan – avoid splashing!

IMG_2190

Get a spoon and dig in.

 

Leave a Reply

